Endlich Tacheles Film

Yaar - the most un-Jewish Jew in the world

Why do I consider myself to be the most un-Jewish Jew in the world? Let's start with the fact that I'm not circumcised. We never celebrated the holidays, and we never ate kosher. I have a German girlfriend. I don't know anything about Judaism. I don't even know the prayer that is recited on Shabbat. 
 
And yet at school, I was sometimes called a Jewish bastard.
NeuesBild 1 - Der Film

Yaar Harell is an imaginative young Berliner who dreams of making a new Star Wars film someday. His world is science fiction and computer games. There is not much difference between him and his German friends, except for the minor detail that he happens to be Jewish. But is that something he wants?

At first he looks up to his father, but as he gets older, Yaar understands that his father suffers from the families history. Because he is afraid of being swallowed by the subject, he rejects everything Jewish and rebels against his father.

What do I associate with Judaism? Basically, it's just suffering and death. That's what I associate with it. I am a new child in this world. Why should I suffer from events that my grandparents or parents had to endure? It's not fair.

When Yaar decides to be accompanied by a camera for the purpose of this film, he is ready to face his heritage – including all painful experiences this might entail. He embarks on a journey that eventually takes him closer to his roots.

 

Neues Bild 2 os4242d28ysiull7rax0aqngs1wa65b161hv3zedlo - Der Film

Story

Yaar associates Judaism with nothing but victims who allowed themselves to be led to the slaughter. He accuses his father of suffering from the Holocaust although he never even experienced it firsthand. Yaar rebels by developing a computer game:  "Shoah. When God was asleep”. He creates a 1940s Germany in which Jews can defend themselves and Nazis can act humanely. His father is shocked.

Yaar develops the game together with his two friends Sarah and Marcel. He decides to model one of the game’s protagonists, a young Jewish girl, on his grandmother Rina. Her opponent is an SS officer, who is inspired by one of Marcel’s actual ancestors. The three friends agree: the old assignment of victim and perpetrator roles prevent them from being able to do what they so desperately long for: to move on! The past should finally be left behind them. Together with his friends he visits Rina’s birthplace, Krakow, and uncovers a terrible family secret.
The three realize that the past is strongly connected to them - the grandchildren of the victims and perpetrators. Thus begins a painful confrontation with their own history, which will also change the relationship between Yaar and his father.

Yaar has to find his way between the trauma of preceding generations and his own claim to an unburdened life.

The Holocaust as a computer game?

We are convinced that new forms of remembering are needed today:

We are convinced that new forms of remembering are needed today. The last witnesses of the Shoah will soon be gone, and textbooks alone are not enough to keep the memory alive. Yaar with his game, and we with our film, are taking steps in a new direction. How do I deal with the fact that my ancestors were victims or perpetrators? And what is the difference between guilt and responsibility? We are all connected to this part of history, no matter how aware we might be of the stories of our parents, grandparents and great-grandparents. Our protagonists are young, funny and daring. Their views are controversial and raise topical questions: What does the Holocaust have to do with me, personally, today? 

TACHELES - The Heart of the Matter is a project against forgetting that makes the Holocaust accessible for the grandchildren’s generation.

Three generations

Rina Rund - Der Film

When Year's grandmother Rina and his grandfather Moshe met after the war, both were severely traumatized. As a child, Rina was smuggled in a large saucepan out of the Płaszów concentration camp near Krakow. Moshe had survived Auschwitz and the concentration camp death marches. Both of their families were wiped out, with few exceptions. In Israel, they began a new life, and together had three children. Outwardly they tried to function, but it was difficult for them to express feelings and to provide their children with a sense of emotional security.

Ilei Rund - Der Film

As a child, their son Ilei often witnessed his mother's despair. Even 20 years after the war, she still feared the Gestapo would come knocking on her door. These impressions and stories are haunting Ilei to this day. In order to protect his children, he shielded them from his family’s history and from Judaism in general. He relocated his family to Germany, where Yaar grew up, far removed from his grandparents and their memories of a painful past.

Rina Yaar - Der Film

The grandparents’ repressed memories, the father’s silence, the grandson’s rebellion – these are three generations’ different strategies for coming to terms with an inescapable past. And even without knowing any details, Yaar perceived his family’s heritage like a heavy burden throughout his life. TACHELES - The Heart of the Matter is far more than the story of a young Jew's search for his identity in Germany – the film is the intense portrait of a family whose lives have been marked by the Holocaust up to this day.

Scroll to top
en_GBEnglish
de_DEGerman en_GBEnglish

Endlich Tacheles Film

Yaar – der unjüdischste Jude der Welt

Warum ich der unjüdischste Jude der Welt bin? Fangen wir damit an, dass ich nicht beschnitten bin. Wir haben nie die Feste gefeiert, nie kosher gegessen. Meine Freundin ist Deutsche. Ich weiß nichts über das Judentum, kenne nicht mal das Gebet, das an Shabat gesprochen wird. 
 
Und trotzdem war ich in der Schule manchmal die Judensau.
NeuesBild 1 - Der Film

Yaar ist ein phantasievoller 21-jähriger, der davon träumt, irgendwann den neuen Star-Wars-Film zu drehen. Dass er als Sohn einer jüdischen Familie in Israel geboren wurde, spielte für ihn lange keine Rolle.

Der Vater ist sein großes Vorbild. Doch je älter Yaar wird, desto so mehr wird ihm bewusst, dass sein Vater leidet. Warum, das versteht er nicht, nur dass es mit der Familiengeschichte zu tun hat. Aus Angst, von dem Thema verschlungen zu werden, lehnt Yaar alles Jüdische ab und rebelliert gegen seinen Vater.

Was ich mit dem Judentum verbinde? Eigentlich nur Leid und Tod, das ist es, was ich damit verbinde. Ich bin ein neues Kind in dieser Welt. Warum soll ich unter Sachen leiden, die meine Großeltern oder meine Eltern durchgemacht haben? Das ist unfair.

Als Yaar entscheidet, sich für diesen Film mit der Kamera begleiten zu lassen, ist er bereit, sich seinem Erbe zu stellen – mit allen – auch schmerzhaften – Erfahrungen, die das mit sich bringt. Er begibt sich auf eine Reise, die ihn am Ende seinen Wurzeln näher bringt.

 

Neues Bild 2 oyow0e2hy408hj9fjzmbaxql8pj7o8d0s0341hs4m4 - Der Film

Geschichte

Yaar verbindet mit seinem jüdischen Erbe vor allem das Leid und Machtlosigkeit der Juden im Holocaust. Aus dem Wunsch, nicht zu einem „Opferverein“ gehören zu wollen, entsteht die Idee, ein Computerspiel zu entwickeln:  „Shoah. Als Gott schlief.“ In dem von ihm kreierten Deutschland um 1940 können Juden sich wehren, Nazis menschlich handeln. Yaars Vater ist schockiert.

In seinen Studienkollegen Sarah und Marcel findet er Mitstreiter. Yaar macht seine Oma Rina zum Vorbild für die Figur des jüdischen Mädchens Regina. Ihr Gegenspieler, ein SS-Offizier, ist von einem realen Vorfahren von Marcel inspiriert. Die drei sind sich einig: die alten Rollenzuschreibungen von Tätern und Opfern stehen ihnen im Weg, und die Vergangenheit soll endlich vorbei sein! Sie reisen zusammen in Rinas Geburtsort Krakau, wo Yaar ein furchtbares Familiengeheimnis aufdeckt.
Die drei Freunde erkennen, dass die Ereignisse der Vergangenheit mit ihnen selbst zu tun haben – als Enkel der damaligen Opfer und Täter. Eine schmerzhafte Auseinandersetzung mit der eigenen Geschichte beginnt, die auch die Beziehung zwischen Vater und Sohn verändert.

Yaar muss zwischen dem Trauma der Generationen vor ihm und dem Anspruch auf ein unbelastetes Leben seinen eigenen Weg finden.

Der Holocaust als Computerspiel?

Wir sind überzeugt: Es braucht heute neue Erinnerungsformen.

Die letzten Zeitzeugen der Shoah sterben, und Lehrbücher allein reichen nicht, um die Erinnerung wach zu halten. Yaar mit seinem Spiel und wir mit unserem Film gehen einen Schritt in eine neue Richtung. Wie gehe ich damit um, dass meine Vorfahren Opfer bzw. Täter waren? Und was ist der Unterschied zwischen Schuld und Verantwortung? Jeder einzelne von uns ist mit diesem Teil der Geschichte verbunden, egal wie gut wir die Geschichten unserer Eltern, Großeltern und Urgroßeltern kennen. Unsere Protagonisten sind jung, witzig und mutig. Ihre Ansichten sind streitbar und werfen aktuelle Fragen auf: Was hat der Holocaust heute noch mit mir persönlich zu tun? 

ENDLICH TACHELES ist ein Projekt gegen das Vergessen, das den Holocaust für die Generation der Enkel erzählt.

Drei Generationen

Rina Rund - Der Film

Als Yaars Großmutter Rina und sein Großvater Moshe sich nach dem Krieg begegneten, waren beide schwer traumatisiert. Rina wurde als Kind in einem großen Kochtopf aus dem KZ Plaszow bei Krakau geschmuggelt. Moshe hat Auschwitz und den Todesmarsch überlebt. Beider Familien waren bis auf wenige Ausnahmen ausgelöscht. In Israel begannen sie ein neues Leben, bekamen zusammen drei Kinder. Äußerlich versuchten sie zu funktionieren, doch es fiel ihnen schwer, Gefühle zuzulassen und ihren Kindern Geborgenheit zu geben.

Ilei Rund - Der Film

Ihr Sohn Ilei wurde als Kind oft Zeuge der Verzweiflung seiner Mutter. Noch zwanzig Jahre nach dem Krieg glaubte sie, die Gestapo klopfe an ihre Tür. Die Bilder und Erzählungen verfolgen Ilei bis heute. Um seine Kinder davor zu schützen, hat er sie von der Familiengeschichte und dem Judentum ferngehalten. Er ging mit seiner Familie nach Deutschland, wo Yaar weit weg von den Großeltern und ihren Erinnerungen an die schmerzvolle Vergangenheit aufwuchs.

Rina Yaar - Der Film

In der Verdrängung der Großeltern, dem Schweigen des Vaters, genau wie in der Rebellion des Enkels zeigen sich unterschiedliche Strategien der drei Generationen, die Vergangenheit zu verarbeiten - doch keiner kann ihr entfliehen. Und auch ohne Einzelheiten zu kennen, spürte Yaar doch sein Leben lang sein Familienerbe wie einen schweren Mantel auf den Schultern. ENDLICH TACHELES ist weit mehr als die Geschichte der Identitätsfindung eines jungen Juden in Deutschland – der Film ist das intensive Porträt einer Familie, in deren Leben der Holocaust bis heute Spuren hinterlässt.

Nach oben scrollen
de_DEGerman